• TOKYO
  • IWATE

PROSPERITY STILLNESS & MOTION

Ce voyage présente à la fois l'aspect dynamique de Tokyo, symbolisé par le carrefour de Shibuya, et la splendeur du passé transmise jusqu'aujourd'hui grâce à des sites classés au patrimoine mondial, tels que le site Hiraizumi construit pour rendre hommage à la paix.

Official Tokyo Travel Guide
http://www.gotokyo.org/fr/index.html

Local government official website
http://www.japan-iwate.info/

Voyageurs

  • Matt Stabile
    écrivain
    Pays de résidence New York
  • Petra Canan Trudell
    Chroniqueuse
    Pays de résidence Tokyo
    Pays de naissance: État du Michigan États-Unis

Aéroport international de New York-John F. Kennedy

ANA1009 Rechercher les itinéraires depuis votre pays

  • Matt Stabile

    Le vol ANA était parfait. Il était à l'heure et l'aéroport était bien desservi. Nous avons été très bien guidés.

Aéroport international de Narita

Narita Express (JR EAST PASS) Afficher les détails

Métropole de Tokyo

Premier jour

TOKYO

Marché extérieur de Tsukiji(Tsukiji Kanno)more

Juxtaposé au marché Tsukiji, plus grand marché de produits maritimes au monde, le marché extérieur de Tsukiji forme une rue commerçante qui gère le marché de gros et possède une longue histoire depuis l’ère Taisho. Plus de 400 boutiques s’y alignent et fournissent tout ce qui concerne la gastronomie, des ingrédients frais aux ustensiles de cuisine.Le marché extérieur de Tsukiji étant privé, il conservera toujours cet emplacement, même si le marché de Tsukiji est délocalisé.

  • Matt Stabile

    L'ambiance était extraordinaire. La cuisine, unique, et le poisson extrêmement frais étaient délicieux, au point que je pourrais presque en manger tous les jours au petit déjeuner.

    C'était une expérience unique, fantastique. J'ai pu voir ce qu'étaient vraiment les vêtements traditionnels et ressentir la force de cette culture.

    L'ambiance et la nourriture étaient extraordinaires. J'ai aussi trouvé le quartier très joli. Je l'ai tellement aimé que j'y suis retourné depuis.

  • Petra Canan Trudell

    Le petit déjeuner à Tsukiji était délicieux. C'est une très bonne façon de commencer la journée. Nous n'avons pas eu beaucoup de temps pour nous promener sur le marché, mais le guide nous a donné des informations très intéressantes. C'était mercredi et nombre d'étals étaient fermés, mais nous avons tout de même pu rencontrer des chefs de boutiques et des marchands. Le spectacle change régulièrement, et cela ne me poserait donc pas de problème de le revoir.

    C'était la première fois que j'essayais un kimono, et c'était génial. Les employées sont très douées pour nous habiller avec ces tenues traditionnelles. La cérémonie du thé est un moment parfait pour échanger avec les autres. Nous avons même pu essayer de faire du thé macha nous-mêmes.

    J'avais toujours voulu essayer la cuisine traditionnelle de Kagurazaka, et j'ai donc été vraiment comblée. Ensuite, nous avons passé le reste de cette journée à Tokyo à en apprendre plus sur l'histoire et les bâtiments de ce quartier.

Lignes Hibiya et Ginza, Tokyo Metro
Tsukiji → Shibuya
30 minutes, 200 yens

Shibuyamore

Visites recommandées

Concentrant de nombreux restaurants, bars, discothèques et salles de concert, Shibuya est un foyer de la culture des jeunes. D'innombrables grands magasins et boutiques s'alignent dans ce quartier toujours débordant de l'enthousiasme des jeunes. Si vous cherchez les articles "Kawaii" (mignons, adorables) aperçus dans les magazines, Shibuya est la destination incontournable. Passez un agréable moment dans un café branché ou un petit restaurant bon marché... Devant la gare de Shibuya, découvrez plusieurs lieux très célèbres tels que la statue de Hachiko, ou le fameux carrefour où se croise une foule nombreuse.

  • Matt Stabile

    J'adore Shibuya. On dirait Times Square, à New York. C'est très amusant de voir tous ces gens marcher sur cette place, et le panorama est splendide vu d'en haut.

  • Petra Canan Trudell

    J'étais déjà allée plusieurs fois au carrefour Hachiko de Shibuya, mais cette fois-ci c'était spécial. C'était la première fois que je voyais le carrefour d'en haut. C'est toujours un plaisir de contempler Tokyo depuis une hauteur parce qu'on peut vraiment se rendre compte des dimensions.

Ligne JR Yamanote (JR EAST PASS)
Shibuya → Shinjuku
7 minutes, 160 yens

Shinjuku - Hanazono Golden Gaimore

Le Golden Gai plonge ses racines dans le marché noir qui s'est installé aux abords de la gare de Shinjuku durant la période troublée de l'après-guerre. Il était à l'époque un lieu fréquenté la nuit par les romanciers ou les journalistes qui y échangeaient des discussions animées. La plupart des échoppes, en bois, ne disposent que d'un comptoir. Le nombre de commerces tenus par des jeunes s'est aujourd'hui accru, et ce quartier, emblématique de l'ancien comme du nouveau Shinjuku, est réputé pour son animation.

  • Matt Stabile

    La nourriture était délicieuse. Moi qui n'ai jamais l'occasion de manger de tempura, j'ai été comblé.

    Le Robot Restaurant est vraiment une expérience unique. Il est véritablement unique, et je pense qu'il plaira à tous les voyageurs étrangers.

  • Petra Canan Trudell

    Dîner dans le Golden Gai, c'est toujours une expérience unique. Il y a en effet beaucoup de restaurants que je souhaite essayer. J'adore les udon au curry mais je me suis aussi bien régalée avec du radis blanc au miso.

    Le Robot Restaurant est l'un des lieux les plus connus de Tokyo actuellement, et il suffit de s'y rendre pour comprendre les raisons de ce succès. Le spectacle est très vivant et l'accueil du personnel et des danseuses est formidable.Le spectacle change régulièrement, c'est pourquoi ça ne me gênerait pas d'y aller à nouveau.

Hyatt Regency Tokyo

  • Matt Stabile

    L'hôtel était parfait. Je n'aurais pas pu souhaiter mieux. La chambre était incroyable et le petit déjeuner est le meilleur que j'aie jamais mangé. Les employés étaient aussi charmants.

  • Petra Canan Trudell

    La chambre était l'une des meilleures où j'ai pu loger en Asie. J'étais contente de voir qu'il y avait toutes les installations nécessaires à mon confort. Pour le petit déjeuner, ils avaient prévu un buffet mélangeant cuisines japonaise et occidentale, et j'ai même pu déguster le petit déjeuner américain que j'aime tant. J'étais ainsi en pleine forme pour prendre le Shinkansen et poursuivre mon voyage.

Deuxième jour

TOHOKU(IWATE)

7:56 Gare de Tokyomore

Le bâtiment en briques rouges Marunouchi, très apprécié depuis longtemps comme le visage de la gare fr Tokyo, a fini d'être restauré en octobre 2012 et a ainsi retrouvé son aspect d'origine. Les visiteurs peuvent désormais ressentir les 100 ans d'histoire du bâtiment et son atmosphère unique. A l'occasion de la réouverture du bâtiment Marunouchi, le Tokyo Station Hotel et la Tokyo Station Gallery ont également rouverts leurs portes. L'hôtel Tokyo Station est le seul hôtel au Japon qui soit aménagé dans un bâtiment désigné Bien culturel important. Il a été conçu dans un style raffiné inspiré de l'architecture classique européenne et s'accorde parfaitement avec le magnifique extérieur du bâtiment Marunouchi.

JR Shinkansen Hayabusa 101 (JR EAST PASS)
Tokyo → Ichinoseki
13 230 yens
*Coût/tarif pour 1 adulte en période normale, siège réservé en voiture normale

  • Matt Stabile

    Le Shinkansen Hayabusa est extrêmement rapide, c'est l'idéal pour voyager. J'aimerais qu'il existe également aux Etats-Unis. Il ne me semble pas y avoir de meilleur moyen de voyager.

  • Petra Canan Trudell

    Je suis toujours contente de voyager en Shinkansen parce que c'est vraiment très pratique. Ponctuels, propres et confortables, ces trains permettent de faire un voyage agréable.

10:08 Gare d'Ichinoseki

Ligne JR Ofunato (JR EAST PASS)
Ichinoseki → Geibikei
Environ 30 minutes

Gorge de Geibimore

Il s'agit d'une gorge creusée par la rivière Satetsu dans le calcaire, sur près de 2 km, et entourée de deux falaises de 100 m de hauteur environ. Son cours est paisible, et les bateliers qui dirigent à la force de leur bras les bateaux qui descendent la rivière entonnent le chant traditionnel du "Geibi Oiwake" (chant de Geibi). Le mauve des glycines qui fleurissent sur la falaise sont le principal attrait du printemps, particulièrement en période de floraison durant laquelle les grappes de glycines, au bord des eaux calmes de la rivière, pendent en plusieurs étages sur toute la hauteur des rochers.

  • Matt Stabile

    C'était une expérience stupéfiante. Le paysage m'a beaucoup plus, il était incroyable. J'ai pu vraiment me détendre et profiter de cette nouvelle expérience.

  • Petra Canan Trudell

    C'est la visite que nous avons préférée dans notre voyage à Iwate. Les paysages étaient magnifiques et ça nous a vraiment changé les idées du travail à Tokyo. J'ai particulièrement aimé les chansons chantées par l'homme qui nous a fait descender la rivière en bateau.

Bus Iwate Kotsu (ligne Hiraizumi - Geibikei)
Geibikei → Hiraizumi Ekimae
Environ 35 minutes

Bus Iwate Kotsu (ligne Kokudo Minami)
Hiraizumi Ekimae → Chuson-ji
Environ 5 minutes

Temple Chuson-ji more

Visites recommandées

Dans ce temple fondé par le moine Ennin, Kiyohira, premier seigneur du clan Oshu Fujiwara fit construire au début du 12e siècle de nombreux pavillons, tahoto (pagodes ornées de nombreux bijoux) et grands pavillons à deux étages. Il avait pour objectif d'établir une "terre de Bouddha" afin de consoler les âmes des victimes des deux longues campagnes militaires "Zen kunen no eki" (les 9 premières années de guerre) et "Go sannen no eki" (les 3 dernières années de guerre). Ces bâtiments furent détruits par un incendie au 14e siècle, mais le temple abrite encore aujourd'hui plus de 3 000 trésors nationaux ou bien culturels importants qui ont gardé la beauté de l'époque Heian (794–1185), à commencer par le Konjiki-do (pavillon d'or).

  • Matt Stabile

    J'ai été surpris par la beauté de ces temples, et ai pu réaliser de belles photos et vidéos. Je conseille vivement à tout le monde cette visite. C'est une expérience qui vaut le détour.

  • Petra Canan Trudell

    Nous avons eu la chance de pouvoir visiter deux sites classés au patrimoine mondiale de l'Unesco. Ils étaient magnifiques tous les deux. Les explications du guide étaient aussi très intéressantes. Il nous a offert des explications sur l'histoire du Japon et l'importance de ces sites pour la région et le Japon. Je pense qu'il est intéressant de retourner visiter au moins une fois chacun de ces sites.

Bus Iwate Kotsu (Hiraizumi Junkan Bus "Run-Run")
Chuson-ji → Motsu-ji
Environ 15 minutes

Temple Motsu-ji more

Le temple Motsu-ji a été fondé par le moine Ennin en l'an 3 de l'ère Kasho (850). Dans la seconde moitié de l'époque de Heian, le second seigneur Motohira et le troisième seigneur Hidehira du clan Oshu Fujiwara firent construire dans cette zone des temples grandioses tels que le Kondo Enryu-ji ou le Kasho-ji, composés de 40 bâtiments et comptant 500 moines, qui conférèrent au Motsu-ji sa réputation de lieu saint unique au Japon.

A pied
Temple Motsu-ji → Gare de Hiraizumi
Environ 10 minutes

Ligne principale JR Tohoku (JR EAST PASS)
Hiraizumi → Kitakami
Environ 30 minutes

JR Shinkansen Yamabiko 57 (JR EAST PASS)Kitakami → Morioka

  • Matt Stabile

    Le dîner était délicieux. C'était une cuisine traditionnelle différente de ce que j'ai pu manger à Tokyo.

  • Petra Canan Trudell

    La cuisine d'Iwate utilise beaucoup d'ingrédients particuliers et de produits locaux. J'ai pu goûter à des produits que je ne connaissais pas, tels que les ascidies. Je me suis aussi régalée avec des sashimis frais et des udon fabriqués dans la région.

HOTEL ROUTE-INN MORIOKA EKIMAE

Troisième jour

HOTEL ROUTE-INN MORIOKA EKIMAE

Gare de Moriokamore

La gare de Morioka, porte d'entrée d'un voyage dans la préfecture d'Iwate, est un lieu commode pour obtenir des informations touristiques, mais propose aussi une grande variété d'attraits gastronomiques et de souvenirs. Les trois grands plats de pâtes de Morioka et son pain de renommée locale sont incontournables pour les gourmets d'Iwate. On y trouve aussi toutes sortes de cadeaux allant des grands classiques en terme de pâtisseries et d'objets d'artisanat, jusqu'aux nouveaux objets à la mode.

JR Shinkansen Hayabusa (JR EAST PASS) Afficher les détails

Gare de Tokyo ou autres endroits

  • Matt Stabile

    Tout le voyage était vraiment formidable. Je n'aurais pas pu espérer mieux. La nourriture était excellente et j'ai fait beaucoup d'expériences uniques et inoubliables. Et le plus important, c'est que j'ai maintenant envie de conseiller ce voyage à tout le monde.

  • Petra Canan Trudell

    Le voyage était très bien organisé et nous avons pu voir beaucoup de choses malgré le peu de temps dont nous disposions. A Tokyo, j'ai découvert de nouvelles choses que j'ai envie de partager avec mes amis et ma famille. Mon mari et moi souhaitons retourner à Iwate pour visiter encore plus la région.

Suggestions des voyageurs

A Tokyo, j'ai vraiment adoré visiter les temples, me promener à Kagurazaka et voir Shibuya d'en haut. C'était une expérience extraordinaire. Tous les repas étaient délicieux. J'ai particulièrement été marqué par le marché au poisson. Je pense que ce marché plaira à tous les voyageurs étrangers.La visite des temples à Iwate était géniale également. Je pense que c'est exactement ce que recherchent les touristes étrangers : pouvoir observer les temples et en apprendre plus sur l'histoire et la culture du Japon.

Matt Stabile
écrivain
Pays de résidence New York
  • Loisirs

    Le sport,L'écriture,La lecture

  • Nombre de voyages au Japon

    La première fois

Suggestions des voyageurs

J'adore admirer les productions artistiques et artisanales locales. J'aurais aimé en voir plus à Iwate, mais j'ai bien aimé le rythme des visites.

Petra Canan Trudell
Chroniqueuse
Pays de résidence Tokyo
Pays de naissance: État du Michigan États-Unis
  • Loisirs

    Les voyages au Japon et en Asie,La lecture,Les voyages non organisés

  • Durée du séjour à Tokyo

    Un an et demi

Partagez cette page !

Itinéraires touristiques recommandés

Autres itinéraires passionnants

Transports

COPYRIGHT © TOHOKU & TOKYO ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Back to Top

• TOKYO
  • IWATE

PROSPERITY STILLNESS & MOTION

This route primarily introduces the Shibuya Scramble pedestrian crosswalk, which is symbolic of the dynamism of Tokyo, and the Hiraizumi World Heritage Site that was built to pray for peace and conveys the glory of the past to the present

Official Tokyo Travel Guide
http://www.gotokyo.org/en/index.html

Local government official website
http://www.japan-iwate.info/

TRAVELER

  • Matt Stabile
    Writer
    Reside in NewYork
  • Petra Canan Trudell
    Columnist
    Reside in Tokyo
    Home country: state of Michigan USA

John F. Kennedy International Airport

ANA1009 Examine the directions from your country

  • Matt Stabile

    Flight of ANA: Amenity, Convenience, Punctuality
    The flight was perfect. It was on time and it was very easy to get to and from the airpot and very clear on how to do it.

Narita International Airport

Narita Express(JR EAST PASS) Show details

Tokyo Metropolitan Area

Day1

TOKYO

Tsukiji Outer Market (Tsukiji Kanno)more

Tsukiji Outer Market is adjacent to Tsukiji Inner Market, the world’s largest wholesale fish and seafood market. The Outer Market is a shopping district that dates back to the Taisho period (1912–26). It is lined with more than 400 shops selling everything related to food, from fresh ingredients to cooking utensils.The Outer Market is also a private market—it will stay put even in the event the Inner Market relocates.

  • Matt Stabile

    Tsukiji
    This was actually one of my favorite meals. I loved the ambiance and the uniqueness of the meal and the fish was extremely fresh and tasty. I wish my breakfast every day was like this.

    Ginza: Kimono, Sadou(CHAZEN)
    We had a lot of fun doing this. It was a unique experience and really gave me a sense of the culture and what it is like to dress traditionally.

    Kagurazaka
    The restaurant here was amazing. I loved its feel and the food was great. I also really loved the neighborhood and how it looks. We actually came back here a second time because we liked it so much.

  • Petra Canan Trudell

    Tsukiji
    Our breakfast at Tsukiji was delicious and a nice way to start the day. We could still interact with merchants and vendors.

    Ginza: Kimono, Sadou(CHAZEN)
    Getting to experience wearing a kimono was new for me and I very much enjoyed it. The staff did a wonderful job dressing us, The tea ceremony was a great interactive activity and I liked that we got to participate and try making tea ourselves.

    Kagurazaka
    Our lunch at the restaurant in Kagurazaka was full of traditional dishes that were a treat to be able to try. Learning about the history of the neighborhood and the architecture was a highlight of the day spent in Tokyo.

Tokyo Metro Hibiya Line or Ginza Line
Tsukiji→Shibuya
30 minutes・200 yen

Shibuyamore

RECOMMENDED DESTINATIONS

Shibuya district is the origins of youth culture. You will find several famous restaurants, bars, night clubs and live music venues flourishing among rows of stylish department stores and shops with a constant vibrant and youthful atmosphere. Shibuya is definitely the place to go to if you want to get the latest kawaii (cute) trends published in magazines. In addition, you can also enjoy dining at fashionable cafés and affordable eateries. Situated in front of Shibuya Station are some of the district’s landmarks such as the statue of Hachiko and the “Shibuya Scramble Crossing.”

  • Matt Stabile

    Shibuya crossing
    Shibuya was interesting. It's very much the Times Square of Tokyo. It was interesting to see everyone walking there and it was an amazing sight to see it from above.

  • Petra Canan Trudell

    Shibuya crossing
    While I've been to Shibuya Crossing multiple times, this was special because we got to go up to see the crossing from above. Any time you can look out on Tokyo from up high is a pleasure because it really helps you appreciate the size of it.

JR Yamanote Line(JR EAST PASS)
Shibuya→Shinjuku
7 minutes・160 yen

Shinjuku Golden Gaimore

The root of Golden Town is the black markets that appeared near Shinjuku during the chaos of World War II. Cultural figures such as journalists and novelists used to gather here every night and engage in passionate discussions. Most of the small wooden tenement house-style buildings have only counter seating. Today the number of shops run by young owners is increasing, and Shinjuku Hanazono Golden Town has become a new famous spot in Shinjuku that has a great deal of history.

  • Matt Stabile

    Shinjuku Izakaya
    The food was good. I don't normally eat tempura and I really enjoyed it.

    Robot restaurant
    Robot restaurant was quite a unique experience. It seemed to have a lot of non-Japanese people there, Overall though it was very unique.

  • Petra Canan Trudell

    Shinjuku Izakaya
    Dinner in Shinjuku Hanazono Golden Town is always a unique experience because there are so many places to try. The curry udon was my favorite dish we enjoyed as well as some daikon with miso paste, which is one of my favorite snacks.

    Robot restaurant
    The Robot Restaurant is one of the most famous attractions in Tokyo right now and it isn't hard to see why it's so popular. Not only is the show very bright, lively and entertaining, but the staff and performers are always very welcoming and accomodating to guests. The show changes regularly, so seeing it more than once hasn't been a problem for me.

Hyatt Regency Tokyo

  • Matt Stabile

    Hyatt Regency Tokyo : Room, breakfast and etc.
    The hotel was amazing. We couldn't have asked for anything better. The rooms were incredible and the breakfasts were some of the best we've ever had. The staff was very friendly too.

  • Petra Canan Trudell

    Hyatt Regency Tokyo : Room, breakfast and etc.
    The room at the Hyatt Regency in Shinjuku is one of the best I've stayed in in Asia. They provided plenty of amenities to make our stay comfortable which I really appreciated. The breakfast buffet has a nice mix of Japanese and Western dishes which allowed me to enjoy some foods from back in the U.S. I have been missing and allowed us to board the Shinkansen with plenty of energy for the next part of the trip.

Day2

TOHOKU(IWATE)

7:56 Tokyo Stationmore

October 2012 saw completion of the preservation and renovation work on the Tokyo Station Marunouchi Building. The red brick facade long loved as the symbol of Tokyo Station has made a comeback, along with the history and grandeur of the original building dating nearly a hundred years back. The occasion also saw the reopening of Tokyo Station Hotel and Tokyo Station Gallery. The former is the only hotel situated within an important cultural property of Japan. The interior is designed in a sophisticated, classical European style to blend with the splendor of the Marunouchi Building exterior.

JR Shinkansen Hayabusa101(JR EAST PASS)
Tokyo→Ichinoseki
13,230 yen
*1 adult / normal period – charge for seat reservation on an ordinary car - fee

  • Matt Stabile

    JR Shinkansen Hayabusa
    The train was extremely fast and a great way to travel. I wish they had these in the U.S. I couldn't imagine a better way to travel.

  • Petra Canan Trudell

    JR Shinkansen Hayabusa
    Traveling on the Shinkansen is always a pleasure because of how efficient it is. The trains are on time and always clean and comfortable, which makes for a pleasant traveling experience.

10:08 Ichinoseki Station

JR Ōfunato Line(JR EAST PASS)
Ichinoseki→Geibikei
About 30 minutes

Geibikei Gorgemore

An approximately 2km-long ravine formed by the erosion of limestone by the Satetsu River. Steep cliffs of 100m in height tower on both sides of the ravine. The river flow is quiet and the captains of hand-rowed boats descending the river sing the song "Geibi Oiwake." The purple wisteria flowers blooming on the sides of the cliffs are one of the best sights of spring, especially the sight of the layers of drooping purple flower tufts on Fuji-iwa Rock which rises over the crystal clear water.

  • Matt Stabile

    Geibikei Gorge, boat trip down
    This was an amazing experience. I loved the views and the experience was incredible. It was relaxing and like nothing I've done before.

  • Petra Canan Trudell

    Geibikei Gorge, boat trip down
    This event was my favorite part of our visit to Iwate. The scenery was so beautiful it felt great to get out of the business of Tokyo for a while. I loved that the man who led our boat tour sang to us at the end.

Iwate Bus Company bus (Hiraizumi - Geibikei Line)
Geibikei Gorge→Hiraizumi Ekimae
About 35 minutes (except winter)

Iwate Bus Company bus (Kokudo Minami Line)
Hiraizumi Ekimae →Chūson-ji Temple
About 5 minutes

Chūson-ji Templemore

RECOMMENDED DESTINATIONS

Founded by the monk Jikaku Daishi. Starting from the 12th century, the first Ōshū Fujiwara lord, Kiyohira, began the construction of a massive temple complex here, including two-storied pagodas and two-storied halls. They were built as Buddhist pure lands to give comfort to the spirits of the people who died in the long wars of the Earlier Nine Years War and the Latter Three Years War. Many of the temple buildings were burned down in the 14th century, but even now, the area is a treasure trove of Heian art with over 3,000 articles of National Treasures and Important Cultural Properties, principal of which is the Golden Hall.

  • Matt Stabile

    Chūson-ji Temple and Motsu-ji Temple
    The temples were incredible and I got some great photos and video here. I would definitely recommend others to visit and to experience it themselves. I also learned a lot here.

  • Petra Canan Trudell

    Chūson-ji Temple and Motsu-ji Temple
    Having the opportunity to visit two UNESCO World Heritage Sights was a treat and both had beautiful grounds I enjoyed exploring. Our local tour guide provided us with some very intresting information about the history of these places and their importance to the region and the country. Both are worth visiting again.

Iwate Bus Company Bus(Hiraizumi-cho Circulation Bus ・Run-Run)
Chūson-ji Temple→Motsu-ji Temple
About 15 minutes

Motsu-ji Templemore

Motsu-ji Temple was founded by the monk Jikaku Daishi, in 850. At the end of the Heian period, the second and third Oshu Fujiwara lords, Motohira and Hidehira, built grand temple buildings including the Kondo Enryuji Temple and the Kashoji Temple. In total, the complex included 40 temple buildings and 500 monks' quarters, earning it the reputation as a sacred ground without peer in Japan.

Walk
Motsu-ji Temple→Hiraizumi Station
About 10 minutes

JR Tōhoku Honsen Line (JR EAST PASS)
Hiraizumi→Kitakami
About 30 minutes

JR Shinkansen Yamabiko 57(JR EAST PASS)
Kitakami→Morioka

  • Matt Stabile

    Lunch, Dinner in Iwate
    The dinners were incredible. I liked that the food was different from what we had in Tokyo, and it was very traditional.

  • Petra Canan Trudell

    Lunch, Dinner in Iwate
    Our meals in Iwate featured lots of local ingredients and specialities which is always wonderful to try. I ate some foods I have never had before, such as sea squirt and enjoyed the local udon as well as some fresh sashimi.

HOTEL ROUTE-INN MORIOKA EKIMAE

Day3

HOTEL ROUTE-INN MORIOKA EKIMAE

Morioka Stationmore

Morioka Station is the gateway for travel in Iwate and is a convenient area for tourist information as well as for food and souvenirs. The "Three Great Noodles of Morioka," bread popular with the locals, and other Iwate delicacies are a must-try. For shopping, in addition to the usual snacks and traditional folk crafts, a variety of souvenirs including new and popular items are on sale here.

JR Shinkansen Hayabusa(JR EAST PASS) Show details

Tokyo Station or other places

  • Matt Stabile

    Overall impression
    Overall, the trip was fantastic, and I couldn't have asked for anything better. The food was great, the experiences were unique and unforgettable, and most importantly, I can't wait to tell others to visit.

  • Petra Canan Trudell

    Overall impression
    The tour was very well planned and allowed us to see as much as possible in the time allowed. I had some new experiences in Tokyo to share with friends and family and look forward to returning to Iwate with my husband to see more of this area. All of the people helping us get around were very friendly and accomodating and did everything they could to help us get the most our of our experience.

RECOMMENDATIONS FROM TRAVELERS

Where in Tokyo and Iwate do you recommend to visit for your country? What do you recommend to do in Tokyo and Iwate?
In Tokyo we really enjoyed seeing the temples, visiting Kagurazaka and seeing Shibuya from above. This was a great experience. The meals we had everywhere were great too, especially at the Fish Market. I think foreign tourist would really like this.
In Iwate we really liked the Temples there too, and I think foreign tourist would really like seeing these and visiting them to learn about Japan and its history and to get a feel for the culture.

Matt Stabile
Writer
Reside in NewYork
  • Hobby

    exercise, writing, reading and of course, travel!

  • Number of visits to Japan

    First time

RECOMMENDATIONS FROM TRAVELERS

I love checking out local arts and crafts, so doing more of that in Iwate I would have enjoyed, but I thought the trip was very well paced.

Petra Canan Trudell
Columnist
Reside in Tokyo
Home country: state of Michigan USA
  • Hobby

    traveling throughout Japan and Asia, reading and staying fit

  • Length of stay in Tokyo

    one and a half years

Share this page

Recommended scenic routes

Other attractive routes

Transportation

COPYRIGHT © TOHOKU & TOKYO ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Back to Top